CFSHRC & FemRhets Awards

Lisa Ede Mentoring Award 

Applications due May 15, 2017

The CFSHRC Lisa Ede Mentoring Award is presented biennially to an individual or group with a career-record of mentorship, including formal and informal advising of students and colleagues; leadership in campus, professional, and/or local communities; and other activities that align with the overall mission and goals of the Coalition. The award carries an honorarium of $200.00 per person or $500.00 for a group of three or more people and will be announced every other year at the at the Feminisms and Rhetorics Conference. To learn more and apply, visit:


  • This award is open to all colleagues in rhetoric and composition or related fields with a minimum of 10 years’ post-graduate professional experience, including current and retired faculty, staff, and administrators; independent scholars; and other academic professionals.

Presidents Dissertation Award

Applications due June 1, 2017

In recognition of the close relationship between scholarly excellence and professional leadership, the CFSHRC Presidents Dissertation Award is given to the author(s) of a recently completed doctoral dissertation that makes an outstanding contribution to our understanding of feminist histories, theories, and pedagogies of rhetoric and composition. This annual award is adjudicated every other year, and it is conferred at the biennial Feminisms and Rhetorics Conference. To learn more and apply, visit:


  • Any doctoral dissertation that engages feminist histories, theories, and/or pedagogies of rhetoric and composition and is completed within appropriate timeframes (see below) is eligible for this award.
    • For the 2016 Award: Any PhD dissertation completed between 6/1/2015 and 5/31/2016 is eligible.
    • For the 2017 Award: Any PhD dissertation completed between 6/1/2016 and 5/31/2017 is eligible.

Social Media Curator Travel Grant

Applications due July 15, 2017

The 2017 Feminisms and Rhetorics Conference Planning Committee invites applications for the Social Media Curator Travel Grant. There are eight (8) awards available. This award, which covers the cost of conference registration, is open to graduate students and contingent faculty who are accepted to present at the conference and agree to develop the conference social media content prior to and during the conference proceedings.  Download the application form.


  • Any graduate student or contingent (part-time or full-time non-tenure-track) faculty member who has been accepted to present at the 2017 conference. 

Nan Johnson Outstanding Graduate Student Travel Award

Applications due September 1, 2017

The Nan Johnson Outstanding Graduate Student Travel Award recognizes outstanding research and scholarship in the areas of feminist pedagogy, practice, history, and theory. It is presented at Feminisms and Rhetorics to a graduate student on the conference program. Applications are due 9/1. To learn more and apply, visit:


  • Student must be an accepted presenter at the conference
  • Student must be a Coalition member
  • Student must provide a letter describing the ways in which their research is consistent with the conference theme and the mission of the Coalition
  • Students should provide a letter from a faculty member in their program indicating support for the application and that they do not have other significant financial support for the conference